Collections on Display
It seems like everyone who lived in the Gilman Garrison was fascinated by its inner workings. This model, made in the mid-twentieth century by William Dudley, demonstrates the pulley system and portcullis door, installed in the structure to provide extra protection.
William Dudley created this stencil to use in the interpretation of the Gilman Garrison House. The stencil matches the design on the green room floor, as well as those on the entry way in the Peter Gilman addition. The stencil has been well used and is a unique example of an early preservationist aesthetic ideal.
Adamesque Looking Glass
Made of glass, gilt, and gesso, this mirror was once owned by an Elizabeth Gilman. William Dudley found the mirror and brought it to the Gilman Garrison. The highly styled piece features a central urn, scroll, and leaf finial with swags cascading down the oval side. The mirror is one of only a few pieces in the house with a Gilman family collection.
This early swan floater was used as a diving bell by Ebenezer Clifford, who lived in the house from 1793 to his death. Clifford was a talented carver, maser joiner, and, this buoy indicates, inventor. Diving bells are used to allow divers access to air as they make their way under water. The float, a swan in this case, rises to the water’s surface as the bell sinks.
Council Room Chamber Bedhangings
These crewel-work bedhangings are a 1960s reproduction of an eighteenth century design. They were created by Mrs. Foster Sterns of the Exeter Historical Society and have been tea-stained to create an "antique look." They are wool worked on linen and compliment William Dudley’s Colonial Revival style.