The 2023 Book Prize is awarded

Nov 2, 2023

Honoring the best in history and material culture

The 2023 Historic New England Book Prize goes to Born in Cambridge: 400 Years of Ideas and Innovators by Karen Weintraub and Michael Kuchta.

Book cover For Born in Cambridge

Historic New England has also selected an Honor Book for recognition this year: The Builder Book: Carpenters, Masons and Contractors in Historic New Haven, by Susan Godshall and Jack Tripp.

About Historic New England’s Book Prize

The prize is awarded annually to a book that advances the understanding of life in New England from the past to today by examining its architecture, landscape, and material culture. This also includes works in the decorative arts, archaeology, historic preservation, the history of photography, and other related subjects. View a list of previous Book Prize recipients.