- School & Youth
- Get Involved
Situated on a private lane in Haverhill, New Hampshire, surrounded by 260 acres of field and forest, Daniel Carr House awaits a new owner. Built between 1790 and 1820 by Daniel Carr, a shoemaker who hailed from Newbury, Massachusetts, the Federal-style house remained in the Carr family until 1975. Three subsequent owners have lovingly restored and maintained it. The house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and the New Hampshire State Register of Historic Places.
Historic New England’s Preservation Easement Program, a national model for saving privately owned historic homes, preserves significant features of the house. Alma Duckworth, who purchased the house at auction in 1986, understood the value of murals in the first- and second-story stair halls and the west parlor, created by itinerant painter Rufus Porter. She donated a preservation easement to Historic New England in 1995 and, eventually, the entire property upon her death in 2003. Historic New England subsequently sold it in 2004 with new restrictions.
The easement protects the space configuration of all rooms and the structural framing, as well as interior plaster, woodwork, floors, and fireplaces and hearths. In addition to the rare Porter murals, the house boasts other painted finishes including original decorative stenciling and painted wood graining. The exterior elevations, foundation, chimneys, and roof profiles are also subject to protection.
Peabody and Smith
Franklin, New Hampshire