The 2022 Historic New England Book Prize

Nov 22, 2022

Honoring the best in history and material culture

2022 Book Prize

The 2022 Historic New England Book Prize goes to Boston’s Oldest Buildings and Where to Find Them, by Joseph M. Bagley.

Book cover for Boston's Oldest Buildings and where to Find Them

Boston’s Oldest Buildings and Where to Find Them documents fifty of Boston’s oldest buildings. It adds to our knowledge of Boston’s architectural history and expands our understanding of the social, economic, and demographic shifts that account for each of the buildings changing fortunes. The book presents a glimpse into the lives of the people who lived in the buildings and the neighborhoods where the buildings survive. It also offers insight into the history of historic preservation in Boston.

2022 Honor Books

Fabric of a Nation: American Quilt Stories, by Pamela A. Parmal, Jennifer M. Swope, and Lauren D. Whitley. The book provides a new perspective on the interpretation of American quilts, demonstrating that quilts and bed covers tell and have told important stories of American life and culture from the seventeenth century to today.

Urban Archipelago: An Environmental History of the Boston Harbor Islands, by Pavla Šimková. The book demonstrates that the islands in Boston’s harbor have always functioned as an extension of the city, whether as land for pasture and timber, fortifications, a dumping ground for waste, and more recently, for recreation in a cleaned-up harbor.

Join us to honor authors and collectors

Celebrate the 2022 Historic New England Book Prize and Prize for Collecting Works on Paper at a virtual Night of Prizes on Tuesday, December 6, at 6:00 p.m.

About the Book Prize

Historic New England’s Book Prize is awarded annually to a book that advances the understanding of life in New England from the past to today by examining its architecture, landscape, and material culture. This also includes works in the decorative arts, archaeology, historic preservation, the history of photography, and other related subjects. View a list of previous winners.