Brunschwig & Fils, Inc.
In 1979, Brunschwig & Fils and Historic New England, then the Society for the Preservation of New England Antiquities, introduced our organization’s first licensed products: reproductions of several fabrics and wallpapers. The collection consists of patterns based on the original furnishings and collections of Historic New England.
Established in 1880 by Achille Brunschwig, Brunschwig & Fils began as a tapestry-weaving mill in Aubusson, France. In the early twentieth century, the firm expanded its collection to include printed and woven silks and cottons from the finest European mills. By 1925, under the direction of Achille’s son, Captain Roger Brunschwig, the company had opened showrooms in New York and other American cities.
When Roger's wife, Zelina, joined the firm as a successful interior designer and stylist, the company broadened its product base to include wallpapers and trimmings. Zelina also collaborated with museums and restoration projects around the world to document and reproduce historic fabrics.
Today, the firm offers more than 22,000 fabrics and 1,200 wallcoverings, ranging from fine documentary reproductions to striking contemporary designs. Brunschwig & Fils continues as a family-owned company with headquarters in North White Plains, New York. Products by Brunschwig & Fils are available through interior decorators and architects.