Skip to content

Curriculum Links for Primary Documents

Connections to Connecticut Social Studies Curriculum Frameworks

Connecticut Standards, Social Studies: Grades 5-8

Historical Thinking:

Content Standard 1a: formulate historical questions based on primary and secondary sources, including documents, eyewitness accounts, letters and diaries, artifacts, real or simulated historical sites, charts, graphs, diagrams, and written texts.

Content Standard 1c: distinguish between primary or secondary sources.

Content Standard 1d: interpret data in historical maps, photographs, art works, and other artifacts.

Content Standard 1h: develop written narratives and short interpretive essays, as well as other appropriate presentations from investigations of source materials.

Applying History:

Content Standard 4c: be active learners at cultural institutions such as museums and historical exhibitions.

Curriculum Links for Primary Documents