Skip to content

Home > Publications > Historic New England Magazine > Summer 2004 > News New England and Beyond

News New England and Beyond

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

A Chair for a Good Child
( *see first image of left column )
This charming child's chair, which be-longed to Sarah Orne Jewett, has been donated to SPNEA and placed on view in the writer's house in South Berwick, Maine. Constructed of rosewood in the Gothic revival style and still bearing its original tapestry upholstery, the chair dates from around 1850. A c.1900 photograph by Elise Tyson in SPNEA's Library and Archives shows the chair in the Jewett parlor, where it remained until the contents of the house were dispersed in 1931.

Fostering Preservation & Education
SPNEA received a grant for $38,622 from the Rhode Island Historical Pres-ervation and Heritage Commission to repair the clapboard siding at the 1693 Arnold House in Lincoln, Rhode Island. Meanwhile, SPNEA is piloting an effort to use the historic house as a center for school, youth, and family programming, working in partnership with the Blackstone River Valley National Heritage Corridor, the YMCA, the Great Road Historic District, and local elementary schools.

Saved by a Move
( *see second image of left column )
To make way for a new federal courthouse in Springfield, Massachusetts, SPNEA's 1811 Alexander House was moved last summer. The 357-ton house was shored up, placed on dollies, and pulled slowly to its new location by winches, taking six days to travel roughly five hundred feet.

This wonderful historic structure has recently been sold to a new owner with preservation restrictions that will protect both interior and exterior features. For more information please contact Joe Cornish at jcornish@historicnewengland.org or (781) 891-4882, ext. 228.

Custom House, Boston
( *see third image of left column )
This etching of the Custom House by Paul Lameyer (1885-1960), c.1935, is a recent addition to the holdings of the Library and Archives. Depicting both the original Greek revival structure by Ammi B. Young (1837-47) and a portion of the tower addition by Peabody and Stearns (1913- 15), the work is a wonderful complement to the many historic photographs of the building in the collection. Born in Germany, Lameyer moved to Boston and worked as an architectural designer.

-Compiled by Susanna Crampton,
Public Relations Officer

News New England and Beyond