Staff prepares farmhouse installation
May 30, 2012
Historic New England's collections and conservation staff are working hard to prepare the new tenant farmer display at Spencer-Peirce-Little Farm in Newbury, Massachusetts. From the 1920s through the 1980s, Lithuanian immigrants Jacob and Dorothy Stekionis worked, lived, and raised a family at the farm, owned by the Little family. Attached to the 1690 manor house, the c. 1800 farmhouse where they lived is open to the public for the first time starting June 2.
Cleaning and minor conservation work was done to all farmhouse objects at Historic New England's conservation lab in Haverhill, Massachusetts, during the winter. The team spent the week of May 21 preparing and installing the displays at the house. Visitors can see such artifacts as an overstuffed set of 1930s parlor furniture and and a 1960s washing machine.
A special June 2 opening ceremony features a host of farm activities, including Vintage Base Ball, draft horse plowing, sheep shearing, and local food and spirits.