100th property in the Preservation Easement Program
Historic New England is pleased to announce that the Bell House in Little Boar’s Head, New Hampshire, is the one-hundredth property protected through its Preservation Easement Program.
Designed in 1898 by Boston architects Wales and Holt, the house is an architectural gem in this former summer colony. The house was constructed for Mrs. Charles H. Bell, the widow of former New Hampshire Governor Charles H. Bell. The design for the house was featured in the Catalog of the Architectural Exhibition of the Boston Architectural Club and the Boston Society of Architects held at the St. Botolph Club from May 22 – June 3, 1899. The property is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the Little Boar's Head district.
The easement protects exterior and interior features of the house and carriage house, including woodwork, plasterwork, door and window hardware, light fixtures, and built-in furniture. It also protects landscape features including stone walls, the driveway, the design and location of existing Colonial Revival garden beds, and safeguards the two-acre site from insensitive development.
About Historic New England’s Preservation Easement Program
Historic New England’s Preservation Easement Program is one of the oldest and largest in the country, and is regarded as a model nationwide. It was established in 1981 as a practical, permanent way to ensure the preservation of privately owned historic properties while keeping them in active use. It has used this legal preservation tool to protect nearly 1,000 acres of land and 200 buildings representing a wide breadth of New England architecture from the seventeenth century to the mid-twentieth century. For more information contact Supervising Preservation Services Manager Joseph Cornish at 617-994-6643 or jcornish@HistoricNewEngland.org.