Skip to content


Home > About Us > Press and Media > News Releases > Expired Releases > Historic New England awards annual Book Prize

Historic New England awards annual Book Prize

Book Prize 2011

BOSTON – October 2011 - Historic New England awards its seventeenth annual Book Prize to The History of Shelburne Farms: A Changing Landscape, An Evolving Vision by Erica Huyler Donnis.

The book chronicles the history of Shelburne Farms and its transformation from a collection of farms to a model agricultural estate to a leader in conservation education that demonstrates the stewardship of natural and agricultural resources. Erica Huyler Donnis, who served as curator of collections at Shelburne Farms from 1998 to 2002, is now an independent historian and museum consultant.

The Historic New England Book Prize Committee also recognizes two Honor Books. Connecticut Needlework: Women, Art, and Family, 1740-1840, by Susan P. Schoelwer, showcases examples of needle arts in the Connecticut Historical Society’s extraordinary collection and Eden on the Charles: The Making of Boston, by Michael Rawson, is a richly textured cultural and social history of the development of nineteenth-century Boston.

The Historic New England Book Prize recognizes works that advance the understanding of the architecture, landscape, and material culture of New England and the United States from the seventeenth century to the present. This includes works in the decorative arts, archaeology, historic preservation, and the history of photography. To qualify, works need not deal exclusively with New England but must make a significant contribution to our understanding of New England and its relation to the wider world.

Reception and Book Signing
Saturday, November 19, 1:00 to 3:00 p.m.
Roseland Cottage, 556 Route 169, Woodstock, Conn.

About Historic New England

Historic New England is the oldest, largest, and most comprehensive regional heritage organization in the nation. We bring history to life while preserving the past for everyone interested in exploring the authentic New England experience from the seventeenth century to today. Historic New England owns and operates thirty-six historic homes and landscapes spanning five states. The organization shares the region’s history through vast collections, publications, public programs, museum properties, archives, and family stories that document more than 400 years of life in New England. For more information visit


Historic New England awards annual Book Prize