Eustis Estate Historic District added to the National Register
Milton, Mass. – The Eustis Estate Historic District is the most recent addition to the National Register of Historic Places and protects thirteen important buildings and extensive open space.
The Eustis Estate Historic District encompasses approximately ninety-seven acres spanning from Canton Avenue to the Blue Hills Reservation and includes thirteen buildings constructed between 1878 and 1950. The 1878 stone mansion designed by Boston architect William Ralph Emerson for William Ellery Channing Eustis is the focal point of the district and opens to the public as a historic house museum in May 2017. Other buildings within the new district include a gatehouse facing Canton Avenue, a barn across the street that is in private ownership, the Colonial Revival–style Frederick Augustus Eustis house, and the privately owned Vappi–Myers ranch house. The protected open space includes landscape designed by prominent landscape architect Ernest Bowditch, open fields, cultivated agricultural fields and orchards, a historic ice pond, and woodland.
The National Register of Historic Places recognizes and protects properties of historic and cultural significance. It is the official list of the nation's historic places worthy of preservation.
Historic New England is transforming the 1878 William Ellery Channing Eustis Estate into a historic house museum and study center opening in May 2017. The house museum and grounds will be open for tours, special exhibitions, and programs that explore the architecture, interior decoration, and landscape. Sign up to receive email updates and find out about the latest developments as this project progresses.